Cebu’s 4-day ‘Welgang Bayan’

Please read and share my father’s firsthand account of the 4-day anti-Marcos ‘Welgang Bayan’ in Cebu in October 1984.

In Between Columns

October 22-25, 1984

(This is an account of the first day of the four-day transport strike in Cebu. This is part of an attempt to write a book on those dangerous years when we risked our lives to fight for nationalism and democracy. I am posting this in the hope that others who were also these would also write their versions in the comments space below or send me their narratives via email.)
The noise woke me at around 7 in the morning of October 22, 1984. People inside the apartment were looking down the street. A barricade had appeared early that morning outside the building. A familiar voice barked using a loudspeaker.
It took me a minute to figure out where I was and the people around me. Perhaps this was because I dozed off at 4 am. I had just three hours sleep. Today’s digital natives might joke…

View original post 3,489 more words

Leave a Reply

