Belated Christmas Wishlist

Daghang salamat Ibbie for all these stuff!

Great stuff all the way from a friend in Belgium!

I got an early Christmas present last December when a package full of books, DVDs, and foreign publications arrived straight from Belgium. Also because I was too busy to even touch this site, I did not bother to do the annual ritual of writing a Christmas Wishlist for 2015. It’s now 2016. I thought it wouldn’t be too late to make a wishlist that should be effective for the New Year as well.

Part of my belated Christmas wishlist include books that are really hard to find here in our place and hence some are a recurring presence in previous wishlists here as well: Devil on the Cross by Ngugi Wa Thiong’o, The Marx Family Saga by Juan Goytisolo, Cosmic Canticle by Ernesto Cardenal, Poems: 1913-1956 by Bertolt Brecht, and Eurocentrism and the Communist Movement by Robert Biel.

I actually got hold of a copy of Century of the Wind by Eduardo Galeano last Summer but somehow unfortunately left it in a bus while traveling. I only got to halfway of the excellent book so I want another copy again. I saw 2 interesting films last year and want to read the books they were based on: Kiss of the Spiderwoman by Manuel Puig and The Woman in the Dunes by Kobo Abe.

I subscribed to the Verso Books site and am overwhelmed by their marketing offers. I am thinking of getting myself a credit card so I can get hold of these 2 titles the next time they have a 50% sale: A Critique of Everyday Life (One Volume Edition) by Henri Lefebvre and Reading Capital (The Complete Edition) by Louis Althusser, Pierre Macherey, Etieene Balibar, Jacques Ranciere, and Roger Establet.

As for the home front, I’m thinking about Ang Huling Dalagang Bukid at ang Authobiography na Mali: Isang Imbestigasyon by Jun Cruz Reyes.

Leave a Reply

