Fragment 02

I jot down initial unordered thoughts, usually in a mishmash of English, Tagalog, Hiligaynon, and Cebuano. Then I get up, look around, read a page or two from a book, and then return to the table. I repeat the same process then put order to the thoughts I jotted down, arranging them into thoughts and paragraphs.

Occasionally, I close my eyes and let my mind wander off then return to the paper or computer screen. Repeating this endlessly, I then come to the part where I read from what I initially wrote. Usually, I print a hard copy and begin to go over the text. I mark comments on my prose. I propose additions, changes, or deletions.

Then after more repetition of this processes I come up with a finish product. But it’s never done. There’s always something to add or change. It’s a never ending process, ceasing only with my being overtaken by another writing project.

Leave a Reply

