Muñeca Barbie de Pezones

I read about the 6th Altered Barbie Show in San Francisco from the papers months ago but somehow forgot all about until I came across it again online via CultCase. The art and culture magazine particularly took a liking for the Barbies by LaVonne Sallee:

For Thanksgiving Dinner, Ham, Turkey, or Barbie?

For Thanksgiving Dinner, Ham, Turkey, or Barbie?

According to CultCase, Sallee felt sorry because Barbie has no nipples saying, “many of my Barbies are bare-chested, so I can give her a beautiful set of nipples”:

Barbie Mermaid Silver Tail on Blue Dolphin.

Barbie Mermaid Silver Tail on Blue Dolphin.

More of the 62 year old American artist’s works can be viewed at her website.

Centaur Barbie with Horse Headed Mate

Centaur Barbie with Horse Headed Mate.

2 thoughts on “Muñeca Barbie de Pezones

  1. Just for the heck of it i decided to Google Myself and was amazed at all i found. I have never been on a blog before. It is truly an amazing thing these days to have the ability to go on a computer and communicate with the world.
    I feel famous.
    By the way, I am the artist who created these works. Two years ago I came across a gallery showing Altered Barbies and I have been hooked ever since. It is a double pleasure because I love to go to garage sales, flea markets, thrift stores etc. Now i have a good reason to spend money there so I can rescue all the Barbies and give her nipples (poor girl). Thanks to all of you out there in the world. LaVonne

Leave a Reply

