2013 Provisional Reading Plan

Rage Against the Machine Recommended Book List from the Evil Empire Album CoverThe world did not end in 2012. My reading days continue. As usual, I’m coming up with a list of books to read. While a 5-Year plan in standard “Stalinist” fashion is tempting, my limited vision and time constraints compels me to be contented with a reading plan fit only for the New Year. The titles are as follows simply because they’re the ones I have with me at the moment:

  • The Poverty of Philosophy by Karl Marx
  • Under the Frangipani by Mia Couto
  • The Assault by Harry Mulisch
  • Wolf Among Wolves by Hans Fallada
  • Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh
  • The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
  • Flight of Ashes by Monika Maron

Or are easily accessible for borrowing:

  • Desaparesidos by Lualhati Bautista
  • Pook at Paninindigan: Kritika ng Pantayong Pananaw by Ramon Guillermo
  • Hulagpos! by Mano de Verdades Posadas

I would have liked to read more literary works by Filipino writers (Sa Mga Kuko ng Liwanag by Edgardo Reyes, El Filibusterismo by Jose Rizal, Pinaglahuan by Faustino Aguilar, Mga Ibong Mandaragit by Amado Hernandez, among others) but realized I had next to no access to them because I cannot afford buying them brand new in bookstores!

The rest of the list are dreadful PDFs. Several are carryovers from last year’s reading list:

  • Wages, Price, and Profit by Karl Marx
  • On Anxiety by Renata Salecl
  • How to Read Donald Duck: Imperialist Ideology in the Disney Comic by Ariel Dorfman and Armand Mattelart
  • One Dimensional Woman by Nina Powers
  • Muog: Ang Naratibo ng Kanayunan sa Matagalang Digmang Bayan sa Pilipinas

Some are books that I started last year but still have to conclude reading:

  • Another View of Stalin by Ludo Martens
  • Postcolonial Studies: A Materialist Critique by Benita Perry
  • The Ideologies of Theory by Fredric Jameson
  • Discourse on Colonialism by Aimé Césaire
  • In Theory: Nations, Classes, Literature by Aijaz Ahmad
  • Was Mao Really a Monster: The Academic Response to Chang and Halliday’s Mao: The Unknown Story

Of course, this reading plan will not be followed to the letter. This will remain provisional, which is better since history has shown that they’re never followed anyway. For example, of the 18 books I planned to read for last year I only read 10. I’m still reading 1. I put down 2 and haven’t even opened 5. Well, after all, the only good plan is a flexible one!

2 thoughts on “2013 Provisional Reading Plan

  1. With the first half of the year approaching, I am elated to find out that most of what I’ve set out to read in this provisional reading plan have been read. In fact, I’ve read more than I should be reading!

    Under the Frangipani by Mia Couto, The Assault by Harry Mulisch, Wolf Among Wolves by Hans Fallada, The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai, Desaparesidos by Lualhati Bautista, On Anxiety by Renata Salecl, One Dimensional Woman by Nina Powers, Another View of Stalin by Ludo Martens, Postcolonial Studies: A Materialist Critique by Benita Perry, Discourse on Colonialism by Aimé Césaire, and In Theory: Nations, Classes, Literature by Aijaz Ahmad are all done for. Plus ten more outside of this list.

    Because I’ve acquired some better titles in my physical and virtual shelf, I guess I’ll read Flight of Ashes by Monika Maron and Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh some other time. I’m also skipping Pook at Paninindigan: Kritika ng Pantayong Pananaw by Ramon Guillermo, Hulagpos! by Mano de Verdades Posadas, Wages, Price, and Profit by Karl Marx, and Muog: Ang Naratibo ng Kanayunan sa Matagalang Digmang Bayan sa Pilipinas until I actually get myself or borrow a hard copy of these tomes.

    So there’s still the following to read for the following weeks: The Poverty of Philosophy by Karl Marx, How to Read Donald Duck: Imperialist Ideology in the Disney Comic by Ariel Dorfman and Armand Mattelart, Was Mao Really a Monster: The Academic Response to Chang and Halliday’s Mao: The Unknown Story, and The Ideologies of Theory by Fredric Jameson. I’ll come up with another post on what to read for the second half of the year once I’m done with the four!

  2. Pingback: The 2014 Reading Plan | Hello.Lenin!

Leave a Reply

